Review | House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask [AD]

In this post I’ll be reviewing the House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask that was sent to me by Beauty & Seoul in exchange for an honest review back in 2022; I posted a review on Instagram and on their website at the time and now that I’ve used it more often I’m here to share a full review including general product information and my personal experience using it on and off as a pamper treatment.

House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask

Description

A soft scrub rice mask containing rice grain extracts which helps to maintain your skin soft as well as appearing clean and clear. #Bright and clear skin. Recommended for worn out skin / when exfoliation is required.

Washing the face with rice water was a common practice for royals and commoners alike in the
ancient days in Korea. Rice gently calms the skin while leaving it more adaptable to absorbing moisture. Rice water helps skin become bright and soft. Rice extract helps the skin appear clean and clear, while maintaining moisture.

The cushion like cream type provides a soft scrub effect. The soft cushioning particles help remove dead skin cells without any damage

How to use: Gently apply on face after washing. Rinse out with clean water after 10 minutes

*AS PER DESCRIPTION ON HOUSE OF DOHWA WEBSITE.

Ingredients

Water, Propanediol, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Triethylhexanoin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Sodium Polyacrylate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Powder, Palmitic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Polysorbate 60, Stearic Acid, Sorbitol, Sodium Polyacrylate Starch, Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Tromethamine, Oleth-10, Ethylhexylglycerin, Aluminum Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Fragrance, Caramel, Simethicone, Propylene Glycol, Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Water, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Tocopherol

Quantity & Packaging

You get 100ml in a transparent soft squeeze pouch with a white screw-on cap. The packaging reminds me of a juice or ice cream pouch, and it is perfect for squeezing out the desired amount hygienically. I also like the minimalist beige and grey design with black writing as it looks clean clear and aesthetically pleasing.

Scent

This contains artificial fragrance, caramel and rice extracts, and has a really enjoyable toasted rice snack sort of scent with a hint of sweetness.

Appearance & Texture

Squeezes out as a thick white paste with small beige rice particles within it. As you spread it, it has a beautifully soft and smooth whipped marshmallow texture that spreads evenly over the skin. The rice particles are also smooth and gentle.

My Experience

While starting to write this review I suddenly thought about the other rice-based wash-off masks I’ve used in the past: Skinfood Rice Mask Wash Off, I’m From Rice Mask, as well as the ones I’ve been testing out recently: Nadeshiko Keana Rice Wash Off Mask, House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask, and I found it interesting how each one has a very different texture upon application and very different finish on the skin once washed off. Out of the bunch, I like the House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask the most because it feels fantastic and delivers exactly what my skin is currently looking for.

The House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask is everything I could have ever asked for in a rice mask. For starters, although I usually don’t opt for facial skincare products with artificial fragrance, I can make an exception for this one because it smells divine, like toasty rice snacks with a hint of sweetness, and doesn’t irritate my skin or give me a headache. I also love the whipped marshmallow fluff-like texture that is thick, smooth and pasty so it applies and adheres well to the skin while the rice grain particles that you can see within it are also quite smooth and gentle so it doesn’t feel harsh or scrubby on the skin. It feels very comfortable on my skin so I’m able to keep it on for a full 10 minutes without any irritation.

After the 10 minutes are up, I like how the House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask is still wet on my skin and doesn’t dry up, tighten or crack, it just remains as comfortable as I first applied it. Then with just a few swipes of water over each section of the face, it removes very easily and doesn’t leave any residual film on my skin.

The House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask leaves my skin feeling smooth, soft and refreshed while also looking brighter and clearer, with a natural comfortable finish. My skin doesn’t feel greasy, dry or dehydrated after using it, and it actually feels really balanced and healthy which is great for my combination skin, in fact, I’m sure it will be great for all skin types.

Now as I mentioned at the start of this post, I don’t use the House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask every day and save it for special occasions when I want a pamper session as it is a real treat, this is why it has lasted so long in my skincare collection and a little goes a long way to whenever I do use it. Although a wash-off mask like this one is not a necessity for a basic skincare routine, it’s still worth adding to your collection as an extra nourishing treat to use whenever you’re in the mood for it.

Have you used the House of Dohwa White Rice Wash Off Mask before? let me know your thoughts in the comments 😀

Disclosure: This product was sent to me by Beauty & Seoul in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment