Review | House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer [AD]

I was sent the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer from UK based K-beauty online retailer Beauty & Seoul back in 2022 in exchange for an honest review and had reviewed it on Instagram and on their website back then, however it’s taken me longer than expected to get around to writing a full review of it here on my blog, mainly because I have so many moisturizers to get through and new ones coming in to be tested often too. I did still rotate my products over the past couple of years and used the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer on and off, but really got into using it consistently again a few months ago so I’ve finally finished it. Now that it’s finished I thought I better get a full review up and let my dear readers know what I think of this moisturizer. I’ll first share some general information about the cream and then write about my experience using it.

House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer

Description

A rice-infused, water-based moisturizing cream that quenches dry skin and promotes a plumped, hydrated appearance. #Daily Moisturizing Cream. Suitable for types seeking lightweight moisture, including those with oily, dry, or combination complexions. A tiny amount of this water-based moisturizer applied morning and night provides non-greasy, refreshing hydration and reduces the look of fine lines and wrinkles. 

Our premium rice, sourced from the Icheon region of Korea, provides moisture, hydration, and vitality to the skin. A blend of nine native rice bran extracts offers a burst of antioxidants, squalane, fatty acids, and other bioactive compounds provide a more even-looking complexion. Meadowfoam seed oil provides long-lasting hydration and visibly plumps skin to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. 

How to use: Scoop a dime-sized amount and lightly pat onto skin or use a gentle, upward-sweeping motion.

*AS PER DESCRIPTION ON HOUSE OF DOHWA WEBSITE.

Ingredients

Water, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Pentylene Glycol, Vinyl Dimenthicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Methylglucose Distearate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Glucose, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Sodium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Fructose, Fructooligosaccharides, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Isostearate, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Trideceth-10, Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Sucrose, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Phaseolus Radiatus Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Phaseolus Radiatus Extract, Sea Salt, Aspergillus Ferment, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Sprout Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Germ Extract, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Sprout Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sprout Extract, Phaseolus Radiatus Sprout Extract, Betula Platyphylla Japonica Bark Extract, Rumex Crispus Root Extract

Quantity & Packaging

50ml in a frosted glass jar with an opaque white inner component that holds the cream, and a white screw-on lid. I like the minimalistic black writing and rice bran design that looks clean and aesthetic.

Scent

Unscented.

Appearance & Texture

A white medium-weight cream with a smooth moisturising texture that absorbs quickly to a natural finish.

My Experience

When I first started using the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer I really enjoyed how well it moisturised my skin while absorbing quickly and not leaving an uncomfortable heavy residue behind. It felt like a true medium-weight cream that glides on perfectly, giving my combination skin the exact amount of moisture it needs with a natural finish; light enough to feel comfortable over oily areas, and nourishing enough to combat dryness.

Somehow, things changed when I started using the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer again recently, perhaps my skin condition is different these days or perhaps it depends on what other skincare I paired with it, but the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer didn’t feel as amazing as it once did.

Recently, whenever I used this cream, upon application the medium thickness would give me the illusion of nourished skin but then after an hour or so my skin would feel like it didn’t have enough deep hydration and there were times I’d wake up with dry flakey skin too.

I suppose whatever I was using as my hydrating toner at first was doing a great job and pairing well with the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer to lock in the moisture, however, the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer on its own or with not so hydrating toners, is not enough for my skin in its current state.

With that in mind, I’d recommend this to people with a balanced skin type or a combination skin type that doesn’t experience any dehydration. If your skin is very oily, very dry or dehydrated the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer might be either too much or not enough, so because rice is one of my favourite ingredients for brightening, nourishing and strengthening the skin and I think everyone should try it as a skincare ingredient, I’d instead recommend the I’m From Rice Cream to those of you with dry skin, and something lightweight yet still adequately moisturising like the I’m From Rice Toner for those of you with oily, combo and dehydrated skin – and hear me out, I know that’s a toner not a cream but one thin layer feels comfortably moisturising and I don’t need to add another cream over it.

Have you used the House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer before? let me know your thoughts in the comments or if you recommend any other rice-based products that you adore using 😀

Disclosure: This product was sent to me by Beauty & Seoul in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Review | House of Dohwa Rice Bran Facial Moisturizer [AD]

Leave a comment