First Impression Review | Mediheal Teatree Anti-Dust Calming Mask

I bought this anti-dust version of Mediheal’s popular Teatree sheet mask because I thought it sounded interesting and what to compare the two to see what the actual difference is. I only bought one so this is more of a first impression review based on a one time one off use.

mediheal teatree anti dust mask

I must admit, I totally fell for the marketing as if I had read the ingredients list side by side of the original Teatree Care Solution Essential Mask REX and this new Teatree Anti-Dust Calming Mak, it’s pretty obvious what the difference is as this anti-dust version contains a higher percentage of occlusive film/ barrier forming ingredients, thus blocking dust from the skin more effectively than the original. It also seems to be a lot more suitable for people looking for more moisture and barrier repair.

Also 3 ingredients from the original version are not in the ingredients list of the anti-dust version – Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract being the most notable as that was number 5 in the ingredients of the original, the other two ingredients not included are Polysorbate 80 and Disodium EDTA but that doesn’t really make a difference. I also noticed that the anti-dust version has Teatree and Centella Asiatica a lot further down the ingredients list so they don’t seem to be the main focus here.

Ingredients:
Water, Glycerin, Propanediol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Xanthum Gum, Panthenol, Trehalose, Betanine, Butylene Glycol, Zeolite, Carbomer, Arginine, Allantoin, Adenosine, Polyglyceryl-10 Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Laurate, Dipropylene Glycol, Octyldodeceth-16, Chamaecyparis Obtusa Water, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Extract (50 ppm), Glycolipids, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopherol, Tromethamine, Ceramide NP (Ceramide3), Ethylhexylglycerin, Boswellia Serrata Resin Extract, Glycine Max (Soybean) Seed Extract, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil (65 ppm).

Ingredients taken from the back of the product packaging.

Scent: Refreshing tea tree scent but lighter than the original version.

Sheet Appearance & Texture: Just like the original version, it is a white thin-ish sheet glooped up in a small rectangle that I have to strategically unravel. Smooth material that doesn’t feel rough on the skin.

mediheal teatree anti dust mask
mediheal teatree anti dust mask
mediheal teatree anti dust mask

Sheet sizing: Good snug fit.

Essence Appearance & Texture: The essence is clear and thin with a slight viscosity but does not drip as easily as the original version. The texture is like a slippery silky glycerin, more so than the original.

mediheal teatree anti dust mask

Results:

In general while the sheet mask was on my face it felt very similar to the original one, in that it was cooling and soothing. I didn’t have any pimple sores on my face when I tried this so there was no irritation and it was comfortable to wear throughout the 20 minutes.

Once I took the mask off, I initially thought there was no difference between the two masks as my skin looked fresh and healthy and had similar sticky residue but after a while I noticed that the sticky residue was taking longer to absorb and actually ended up feeling slightly rubbery and tacky on my hands and face – safe to say a “dust blocking” barrier had definitely been left on my skin and as I really don’t like that residual film feeling this was probably not the wisest of purchases, and I should have seen it coming.

Also, it’s not by any mean as occlusive as many creams that dry skinned people would like, it’s more of a light occlusive layer but for me that’s still not a pleasant feeling. Let’s put it this way, it’s too much for me, but might not be enough if you have very dry skin.

For my combo, easily clogged skin I would choose the original Mediheal Teatree Care Solution Essential Mask REX over the Mediheal Teatree Anti-Dust Calming Mask version any day.

Will I repurchase? No, It was interesting to try just to see the difference between this and the original though. I guess anyone who likes that occlusive layer on the skin might prefer this one over the original, but it’s not for me.

2 thoughts on “First Impression Review | Mediheal Teatree Anti-Dust Calming Mask

  1. Pingback: July – September 2020 Beauty Empties & Discards – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: Update 2 | K-Beauty No Buy Challenge – Simply Saima

Leave a comment