Empties | March & April 2024

This roundup will include a mix of skincare products I’ve emptied in March & April and some old makeup and nail products I’ve finally decided to discard after some tough thought.

I posted reviews of some of these products already and have linked the review to the product name where applicable, so please click on the product name of whichever product you’re interested in reading more about.

Skincare

Skincare Empties

Klairs Gentle Black Sugar Charcoal Soap

This soap lasted so long and felt never ending but it’s finally finished. I found it a bit dehydrating on my face so I used it mainly as an upper back soap and it did a great job at deep cleaning clogged pores and smoothing my skin. If you have oily skin and are looking for a charcoal face or body wash this is worth it as it lasts forever. I cut it into smaller pieces and used one piece at a time which took 2 years to finish in total.

Some By Mi AHA BHA PHA 30 Days Miracle Toner (mini)

The percentages of the 3 types of chemical exfoliants in this toner are on the lower end but I found it to still be very effective in smoothing my skin texture, thankfully without any irritation. I also really liked how light and refreshing it felt on my skin. I would definitely repurchase a full-size of this to use in the hot summer months to keep my skin refreshed and pores decongested.

I’m From Pear Soothing Pad

This was my second tub of the I’m From Pear Soothing Pad. I was sent the first tub by Wishtrend when it launched on their website a while back, and I liked it so much that when I finished it I purchased another tub myself. Now that I’ve finished the second tub, I’ve decided I won’t repurchase it even though I do still like its soothing effect and lightweight feel. Having recently branched out and tried many other toner pads I realised the natural cotton pad material of the I’m From Pear Soothing Pad, although aesthetically pleasing, isn’t as soft as I’d like and the toner liquid isn’t as hydrating as my combination dehydrated skin currently needs. It’s very lightweight though which is great for the summer when my skin leans oilier, and the size is large which is great for DIY sheet masking.

The thing is, I’ve also been using the I’m From Pear Serum alongside it more regularly and noticed that the serum is both soothing and refreshingly hydrating while also being lightweight and quick to absorb so I think it’s the better option from the Pear line for me. If you have oily skin you’ll like the toner pads a lot, but if you have dehydration too, the serum will be your best friend.

Klairs Fundamental Ampule Mist

I finished this mist much quicker than anything else in my skincare collection but not because I liked it. I found it to leave too sticky of a film on my skin to use it for its intended purpose. Instead, I tried it out as a makeup setting spray for a while which worked out well but only if I was careful not to spray too much which is very easily done with this mist. Then, when my hair mist finished, I thought hey why not try this out as a detangling spray and finish it up that way which worked like a charm. As I’d spray it onto sections of my hair, it would hit my arm continuously and I’d end up with the most uncomfortable sticky feeling on my arm that I needed to wash off, validating my reasons for not wanting to use it on my face. If you have dry skin and want a mist that will hydrate and also lock moisture into your skin this is a great one to try but for anyone with even a hint of oiliness who doesn’t like tacky residues, this isn’t for you.

Klairs Freshly Juiced Vitamin Drop

This 5% Vitamin C serum used to be one of my favourites as it gives my skin a healthy brightened appearance, but since Klairs launched their new Freshly Juiced Vitamin Charging Serum that has a lighter texture, I realised the Freshly Juiced Vitamin Drop is a touch on the greasy side for me. This was my second bottle of it and recently it also started turning a bit yellow and smelling a bit metallic so I decided to use it up on my body as I’m taking a break from Vitamin C on my face and didn’t want the product to go bad. My body is drier than my face so the texture didn’t feel as greasy and was actually pretty nice – too bad for that dreaded funky smell though. Klairs actually do a great job with their Vitamin C formulation to ensure it doesn’t smell bad, but you have to make sure you are using it as soon as you purchase it and don’t let it sit longer than 6 months in your collection otherwise it will start to turn, which has happened to me twice.

The Inkey List Tranexamic Acid Night Serum

I absolutely hate the chemical smell of this tranexamic acid night serum. It also has an odd texture because it felt refreshing and smooth to apply but sat uncomfortably on my skin with a tacky film that would roll off into gritty bits. Applying it all over my face, helped to give my skin a healthy glow, however, I really didn’t like the feeling and scent at all so it was best for me to only use it over hyperpigmentation marks rather than all over. The problem with using it as a target treatment however was that it takes much longer to see results on darker marks and because I already don’t like the texture and chemical smell I don’t want to keep up with it, so I won’t repurchase it to reap the long term benefits.

Rovectin Cica Care Balm

This balm is not a typical thick occlusive balm and is much more pillowy soft on the skin with a medium-weight texture that absorbs well leaving a natural skin finish. It feels very soothing and also relieved some itchiness for me which was nice. It has a light fruity smell that I used to think was pleasant even though I prefer unscented skincare products, but towards the end of the tube, my preference kicked back in and the scent did start to annoy me.

Bioderma Atoderm Moisturising Stick Lip Balm

This lip balm really helps heal cracked dry lips and feels moisturising, hydrating yet lightweight. It also has a lovely berry scent. Definitely one of my favourite lip balms, you can see how loved and well used it is by the battered case.

Haircare

Haircare Empties Mar-Apr 2024

Dr For Hair Bio-3 Folligen Shampoo

I’ve now finished 2 full-size bottles and 1 smaller size tube of this shampoo and having since been using something completely different I’m really sad because I miss this shampoo so much and need it back in my life. In a previous empties post I mentioned how I love the minty freshness in the mornings and how it leaves my scalp clean and hair feeling light airy yet dense and full with noticeable regrowth, but I also said it doesn’t provide nourishment to my lengths and a deep conditioning mask is a must – now let me tell you, that latter statement is nothing compared to the nightmare my hair has gone through with some recent Kerastase shampoos (Nutritive & Densifique) I’ve been trying out! I now feel like the Dr For Hair Shampoo was just a complete godsend in my life even without a conditioner because it never left my hair extremely dry, dull and frizzy and it never left my scalp dry and itchy. Nourishment can easily come from conditioners, masks, treatments etc but shampoos that damage my lengths and dry my scalp are a big no, so I can’t wait to repurchase the Dr For Hair Bio-3 Folligen Shampoo to fix what’s been happening.

KeraCare Intensive Restorative Masque

This is my second emptied jar of this hair mask and I still like how thick and creamy it is and how it leaves my hair nourished and smooth yet light and airy as long as I apply just a small amount to my lengths. It does have an old-school salon-like chemical perfume scent that I’m not fond of though so I doubt I’ll repurchase a third jar as I’m sure I can find a hair mask that’s just as good with a better scent.

Moremo Protein Mist Pack M

This mist makes my hair so sleek and smooth but sometimes too much so my scrunchie would end up sliding off on its own. If you have a very oily scalp that turns your hair greasy easily then this mist might not be the best fit for your hair type as it contains nourishing oils and fatty ingredients that are more suited to dry hair. If you have dry frizzy damaged ends it really helps tame that and keeps the hair in great condition.

Makeup

Makeup Empties Mar-Apr 2024

Moonshot Micro Glassyfit Cushion – 301

This was such a disappointing purchase. I was expecting a glass-like glow but ended up with thick pasty matte texture-enhancing cake on my face instead even with different variations of perfected skin prep. The shade was also too light for me as it was a mix of yellow and white base pigments for a brightening effect, not like the neutral to warm beige 23 foundation shade I’m used to. There was still a little left but not worth keeping especially as the expiry date was April 2024.

Rare Beauty Always An Optimist 4-in-1 Mist

I finished this mini mist right at the end of April. The glow this gives is so beautiful but it can be intense and look sweaty if its on the wrong areas of my face so I have to make sure to powder anywhere I don’t want the glow. I don’t know why it’s marketed as a setting spray as it really only is a glow booster in my opinion that rehydrates matte dry makeup and brings some natural highlight to the skin. I won’t repurchase it as I prefer my Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Setting Spray.

Sugarpill Cold Chemistry Collection Eyeshadow Palette

I mentioned in my makeup declutter series that I would set this aside to use for artwork or as a collectors item but it’s only just been sitting in a corner the whole time. This palette is so so old but it has the best buttery soft texture and super pigmented. Very smooth and beautiful to look at but never to use. I just have to bite the bullet and throw it out.

Sugarpill ChromaLust Loose Eyeshadows x3 – Magpie, Stella, Olivia

The same as what I wrote for the above palette goes for these 3 loose eyeshadows. I honestly just bought them because I thought they looked unique and beautiful but nothing that would ever be flattering on my small hooded eyelids. The thing is I always used to buy eyeshadows that I thought looked beautiful rather than what would suit me and that’s got to change. I’m still so tempted to keep it for this “artwork” that I know will never happen; in my mind I envision a mysterious dark forest scene with these shades but I’m going to let go of the idea and get rid of them.

Etude House Play Colour Eyes Mini #Kitkat Original

Another impulse purchase was this KitKat eyeshadow palette and it was rather silly of me because I was walking past the Etude House shop in Changwon and saw that I comes with a soft kikat pouch and an actual KitKat chocolate. Tell me, why did I get excited about the chocolate that comes with the palette when I could have gone to the corner shop and bought myself a chocolate to munch on? It looked cute, the chocolate was enticing, this was great marketing! I made sure to use the palette quite a lot over the years so not to waste it but I can’t say all the colours were good. The pigmentation wasn’t as good as other Etude House eyeshadows and not all the shades were as smooth as I like. The glitter shade also wasn’t very impactful. Something unique about it however was that it had a sweet chocolatey scent which I thought was a nice touch. The only reason I’m decluttering it now is because it expired in 2022, and while I could still continue using it, I have other old and new eyeshadows in my collection that I’d rather not neglect over this one. I have learnt my lesson though and will never buy a cute limited edition product again just for the sake of it. I’ve got to be more mindful of my purchases.

Etude House Play Colour Eyes Custom Palette

I’ve had such a ride with my Etude House Play Colour Eyes Palettes. I started with 4 full palettes: In The Cafe, Wine Party, Juice Bar, Cherry Blossom. Over the years I used them in different seasons, mixed and matched shades from different palettes I preferred and decluttered most. Last year I ended up with a custom mix of the shades: Bordeaux Wine, Soulmate, Oak Barrel, Classic Chocolate Shop, Sweet Jujube, Marathon Finish, Cherry Blossom Ending + Twinkle Wink, Peach Pepper Salt + Muscle Mania, Takeout Without Syrup, Caramel Latte; I’ve used them almost daily since making this ideal palette however, it didn’t take long for me to notice that they’re not performing as well as they used to and since the eyeshadows did expire in 2020 and I have used all of them a lot, I see this as a sign to downsize, move on and stop buying palettes that are impossible to finish before they expire. I do also want to mention that the glitters can get very messy so from now I’ll only get the wet brush liner type or dry stick liner typer glitters.

Other

Misc Empties Mar-Apr 2024

Sally Hansen Complete Care Extra Moisturizing 4-in-1 Nail Treatment

This is a good nail treatment to use on its own, or as a base and top coat for coloured nail polish. My nails feel stronger and healthier when I use this too.

Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Hardener

Another classic nail treatment to strengthen and harden the nails which helps prevent them breaking.

Banila Co Holiday in Seoul Tomorrow Twin Nail – French Kiss

I bought this duo on my first trip to Seoul in 2015 and thought it was a cute gold and sparkly red for festive nails. Recently I found the red to be a bit gloopy and thick upon application and the glitter also looks a bit old fashioned. I would prefer to find a shade of red without any glitter that is elegant and sophisticated, so I’m decluttering this one.


Have you tried any of the products mentioned above? I’d love to know what you think of them 😀

Leave a comment