Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party Eyeshadow Palette

The Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party Eyeshadow Palette contains neutral brown, burgundy and gold shades that can be subtle for daytime wear or built up with a pop of colour and sultry bling for evening/ party wear. I find these shades to suit me most in the autumn and winter months. You can see a subtle everyday look I usually do with this palette here: My Go-To Winter Makeup

I recently re-arranged and housed my favourite shades from different palettes into this one, so although I don’t have all of the eyeshadows in this case or in this original order anymore, I still want to share swatches of each of the Wine Party shades with a little description and my thoughts about each one.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party Palette shades:

#1 Camembert & Brie – A white with hint of pale pink and greige undertone that can be used as a base for fair skin tones, but is way too pale for me so I crushed some of it into my custom blusher mix of etude house shades to lighten it and discarded the rest.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Camembert & Brie

#2 The Last Leaf – A dark brown with pink undertone shimmer. I blend this warm dark pinky-brown shimmer shade on the outer corner of my upper and lower eyelids and blending lightly over the crease.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Last Leaf

#3 Oak Barrel – A good basic matte pink beige brown crease transition and blending shade to use all over the lids as a base or for blending.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Oak Barrel

#4 Wine Cork – A neutral brown beige. Wine Cork can be used as a blending shade, however I’ve crushed it in with a custom blusher mix with other Etude House shades to lighten and neutralise the blusher.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Wine Cork

#5 Rose Sparkling Holic – A pink ivory pearl shimmer with very fine glitter particles. This glitter shade has always been extremely difficult to apply and ends up looking like a thin barely noticeable metallic sheen rather than a glitter. There’s also a hard layer that I have to scrape of before each use. I’ve added this shade to my project pan for 2023 just so I can finish it quickly and move on. You really can’t see this glitter’s potential in the swatch below, so I’ll added another swatch picture with the other glitter from this palette side by side at the end so you can see what it looks like at it’s best. Bare in mind though that it takes a lot of effort to get this shade to show up at it’s best.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Rose Sparkling Holic

#6 Marathon Finish – My favourite go-to everyday shade. A light pink brown with slight gold pearl shimmer that I like to use all over my upper eyelids and on the outer corner of my lower lid.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Marathon Finish

#7 Wine Burgundy – A deeply pigmented, smooth and buttery burgundy red colour. I don’t use this all over the eyelids as it would be a bit too much for my makeup taste, however when I use other colours from this palette and want to add just a tiny pop of richness blended towards the outer corner of my eyes I add just a dab of this and it looks beautiful.

#8 Soulmate – A matte deep brown red that adds a special depth to the outer corner of the eyes. It’s not a shade that I reach for often but I do like to use it from time to time to add a bit of smoke and definition.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Soulmate

#9 Dress Code: Bling – A yellow gold glitter with a few silver sparkles. I pop a bit of this glittery gold shade on the centre of my eyelids and on the inner corner of my lower lid, to make my eyes sparkle. It takes some effort for this glitter to show up well but when it does show and catch the light it looks pretty. This shade was quick to form a hard layer so I have to scrape off the top before each use. I’ve added this shade to my 2023 project pan to use up. To get a better idea of this glitter shade, I’ll include another picture later in this post with it swatched next to the other glitter in this palette.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Dress Code Bling

#10 Bordeaux Wine – A dark aubergine burgundy purple brown. In person it’s darker than the swatch picture below. I use this dark purple/ plum shade to slightly soften my eyeliner and give a subtle smokiness. The purple isn’t as dark as black so looks a lot softer and compliments any pinky mauve brown shades I like to wear too.

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Bordeaux Wine

Dress Code Bling & Rose Sparkling Holic swatched next to each other

Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party - Dress Code Bling & Rose Sparkling Holic
The lighter pinkish-toned ivory glitter closest to my wrist is Rose Sparkling Holic, and the warmer gold and silver glitter closest to my knuckles is Dress Code Bling.

My 3 favourite shades are: #2 The Last Leaf, #6 Marathon Finish, and #10 Bordeaux Wine. These are the 3 shades I’d repurchase as singles, and to complete the look I will need a glitter topper but I wouldn’t repurchase the glitter shades from this palette as they aren’t impactful enough.

The glitter shades in this palette, #5 Rose Sparkling Holic and #9 Dress Code: Bling are not the most impactful of Etude House glitter eyeshadows but they are okay enough to use up until finished so I have included them in my project pan for 2023 and hope to finish them soon.

As for shades #1 Camembert & Brie, and #4 Wine Cork, I crushed both of them along with pinks and peaches and some other similar light shades from my other Etude House Palettes to create one customer pressed powder blusher. Adding these lighter shades helped to lighten and neutralise the blusher.

I do also quite like #3 Oak Barrel for blending, #7 Wine Burgundy for a pop of colour, and #8 Soulmate for outer corners but they’re not must-haves.

I personally wouldn’t repurchase this whole palette again, however if my 3 favourite shades are available as single eyeshadows I’d only repurchase those, especially shade #6 Marathon Finish.

4 thoughts on “Etude House Play Color Eyes Wine Party Eyeshadow Palette

  1. Pingback: Beauty Empties | March 2023 – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: Beauty Empties | September 2023 – Simply Saima

  3. Pingback: Makeup Project Pan 2023 | Update 9 – Simply Saima

  4. Pingback: Empties | March & April 2024 – Simply Saima

Leave a comment