Mini-Review | 5 Favourite Lip Balms

In this post, I’ll be sharing mini-reviews on 5 of my favourite lip balms. I’ll also add the ingredients list for each of them for anyone interested.

Best Lip Balm

Firstly I’d like to mention that I don’t have very dry, chapped or flaky lips so I tend to look for lip balms that have more of a lightweight consistency yet are still nicely moisturising, hydrating and soothing.

Bioderma Atoderm Moisturising Stick Lip Balm

Bioderma Lip Balm

| Ingredients |

Paraffinum Liquidum / Mineral Oil / Huile Minerale, Synthetic Wax, Cera Microcristallina / Microcrystalline Wax / Cire Microcrystalline, Paraffin, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Cera Alba / Beeswax / Cire D´Abeille, Bht, Citric Acid, Fragrance (Parfum). [Bi577]

Bioderma

| My thoughts |

This lip balm is meant to soothe and repair damaged and dehydrated lips, and also claims to be suitable for sensitive skin, however, I notice that it does contain artificial fragrance which could be a sensitivity trigger for some. This lip balm has a light raspberry scent. It is a white translucent balm that feels light yet hydrating on my lips. It doesn’t feel sticky or greasy, is very smooth in consistency and leaves a perfect subtle sheen to the lips. I love how lightweight and soothing this feels on my lips and how my lips look plump, hydrated and healthy after using this.

Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm Jar – Cherry SPF15

Carmex Lip Balm

| Ingredients |

Petrolatum, Lanolin, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Parfum, Benzophenone-3, Cetyl Esters, Theobroma Cacao Seed Butter, Cera Alba, Paraffin, Camphor, Menthol, Vanillin, Linalool, Benzyl Cinnamate, Geraniol.

Carmex

| My thoughts |

This lip balm has a minty cherry fruity scent. It is a yellow translucent balm in a jar which is perfect for controlling the amount of product you want to apply to your lips with clean fingers. I’ve tried the squeeze tube version before and find it harder to control making it feel a bit heavier and gloopy on the lips, whereas this jar version feels light on the lips as I can apply a thin layer. It leaves a cool, soothing, minty feeling on the lips which some people might not like but I actually love! This leaves a perfect sheen on my lips and feels hydrating and smooth without being sticky or greasy. Anyone with very sensitive skin should use this with caution as the artificial cherry fragrance is quite high up in the ingredients list (4th), and menthol which is much lower down can also still be potentially triggering for some.

DHC Flavoured Moisture Lip Cream – Mint

DHC Lip Cream

| Ingredients |

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Liquid Lanolin, Lanolin, Candelilla Wax, Cetyl Lactate, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Glyceryl Distearate, Octyldodecanol, Beeswax, Squalane, Stearic Acid, Tocotrienols, Paraffin, Peppermint Oil, Tocopherol, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Placenta Extract, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Polyglyceryl-6 Polyricinoleate, Phenoxyethanol

DHC

| My thoughts |

This lip balm has a minty scent. It is a solid cream coloured balm that feels light, smooth and minty fresh on the lips. It hydrates well and does not feel sticky or greasy. As this has two different kinds of mint extracts, I would advise anyone sensitive to mint in products to try the original DHC Lip Cream instead, but as I’m okay with mint and generally like the cooling freshness of it, this lip balm is great for me. The Packaging is quite pretty too.

DHC Lip Cream

DHC Lip Cream

| Ingredients |

Lanolin Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax/Candelilla Cera/Cire De Candelilla, Beeswax/Cera Alba/Cire D’Abeille, Lanolin, Stearic Acid, Squalane, Paraffin, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Pentylene Glycol, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract

DHC

| My thoughts |

I’ve used the original DHC Lip Cream for many many years. Firstly the packaging is quite elegant so I love carrying it around and also giving it as gifts. But packaging is not the most important thing of course, and what I love most about this lip balm is that it is a standard fuss-free lip balm that is lightweight, glides smoothly, leaves a lovely shine on the lips but isn’t sticky or greasy. To me, it basically feels like a lighter version of vaseline, although it doesn’t contain petroleum jelly/ petrolatum. One thing I’m not fond of though is the odd smell, I used to think it might be because this contains Ginseng Root Extract, but after using Dr Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips which is made of 100% Lanolin and smells pretty much like the DHC Lip Cream, I’m pretty sure that odd smell is the Lanolin Oil & Lanolin in this product. The scent is something I can easily ignore though as this feels great on my lips.

Nivea Original Care Caring Lip Balm

Nivea Lip Balm

| Ingredients |

Cera Microcristallina, Octyldodecanol, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Cetyl Palmitate, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil, Myristyl Myristate, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, C20-40 Alkyl Stearate, Panthenol, Copernicia Cerifera Cera, Cera Alba, Aqua, Glycerin, Limonene, Linalool, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Citral, Parfum

Nivea

| My thoughts |

Although Parfum is listed as the last ingredient in the product, I really can’t detect any scent at all. What is this supposed to smell like? Maybe something subtle to mask the natural smell of the other ingredients? Anyway, This is a translucent white balm that melts and glides easily on to the lips and feels like it is leaving a nice protective layer on the lips. It does feel a bit thicker than the other lip balms mentioned in this post but is not at all heavy and actually feels quite simple, moisturising and soothing. This is my go-to lip balm for days when my lips are feeling particularly drier or chapped than usual (mostly in the winter) as it really does a good job at fixing this.

Have you tried any of these lip balms? what did you think of them? Also please feel free to recommend any of your favourite lip balms as I’m always on the hunt for anything better and good for my lips 🙂