Review | Aesop Rosehip Seed Lip Cream

In this post, I will be reviewing the Aesop Rosehip Seed Lip Cream. Aesop is a brand that I’ve seen around a lot and have always been intrigued in but have never really look into their products properly. My dad picked a few of these lip creams up on a recent business trip of his and gave them to me because he knows I love testing out skincare products.

Aesop Lip Cream

As always, I’ll first talk about the product description and ingredients but you can skip down towards the ‘My Thoughts’ section to read my personal review of this product.

Description

Here’s the product description from the company’s website:

A vitamin-rich blend formulated to replenish, soften and hydrate the delicate and sensitive skin of the lips. Formulated free from silicone and paraffin.

Ingredients

Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Ceteareth-20, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Disodium EDTA, Dehydroacetic Acid, Benzalkonium Chloride, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Beta-Carotene, d-Limonene, Linalool, Benzyl Benzoate, Farnesol, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol, Eugenol. *Contains nut derivatives.

My Thoughts

Quantity & Packaging

You get 6ml of the lip cream in a squeeze tube.

I like the minimalistic look of the brands packaging but I really dislike the actual tube itself; there seems to be a lot of air pressure in the tube before opening it so once I twisted the cap off, the product automatically started coming out continuously on its own and it still does that every time I open it. It would be much easier to control if it came in a little jar instead.

Appearance/ Consistency/ Texture

The product is true to its name in that it really is a cream for your lips. It has a light creamy consistency that feels moisturising and glides well.

Aesop
Simply Saima Aesop Rosehip Seed Lip Cream Swatch 2

Scent

Spa-like citrus/ floral essential oil scent.

Results

I’m not used to this kind of lip cream feeling on my lips. When touching the cream with my finger it feels quite light but when I apply it to my lips it feels different, a little heavier and sort of fuzzy which is hard for me to get used to. It seems to leave a little barrier on the lips which takes some time to absorb, after which why lips do feel a little nourished but not at all as hydrated or moisturised as a regular lip balm. I find myself constantly touching my lips after using this because of how odd it feels for me.

Some people might actually enjoy this product for its intended purpose, but I ended up using the rest of the tube as a hand cream, which was quite nice and gave some temporary relief to my dry hands. At a tenner for 6ml its a pretty expensive product to end up using as a hand cream though.

I’ll admit I was drawn to this product because of the Rosehip Seed but then I noticed the product contains a lot of other ingredients that combined could actually end up clogging the pores near my lips or trigger other sensitivities. I’d advise everyone to please check the ingredients carefully just in case you’re sensitive to any of the ingredients.

Based on how it feels on my lips, I probably would not buy this lip cream again. I am however curious to try some of Aesop’s other products.

If you’ve used this lip cream before or any other Aesop products, I’d love to know what you think of it and if there are any other lip balms you recommend please do share in the comments section. Also If you’d like to read mini-reviews of my current 5 favourite lip balms, please check out my post: Mini-Review | 5 Favourite Lip Balms

Leave a comment