Review | The Ordinary Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%

In today’s post I will be sharing my thoughts on The Ordinary Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%.

the ordinary

About The Product

Deciem/ The Ordinary state that:

This formula combines very high concentrations of two of the most powerful and important antioxidants in skincare: Resveratrol and Ferulic Acid. Resveratrol is a natural phenol found in several plants and our pure source is 100% derived from Japanese Knotweed. Ferulic Acid is a high-potency phytochemical antioxidant found naturally in walls of plant cells.

Skincare formulations generally incorporate Resveratrol at 1% or less and Ferulic Acid at 0.5% or less. This formula contains each at 3%, an exceptionally high concentration.

Note: Water can impair the stability of any antioxidant. This formula does not contain any water, silicones, oils or alcohol.

Directions
Apply alone or after water-based serums, before oils or heavier creams. Alternatively, mix with other treatments to enhance their antioxidant capacity significantly. This treatment is highly concentrated and can be diluted with most oils per application to reduce strength.

Ingredients

Propanediol, Resveratrol, Ferulic Acid.

the ordinary

Quantity & Packaging: 30ml in a brown glass bottle with screw on pipette lid.

Appearance & Texture: Clear, slightly tinted viscous liquid with a greasy slip.

Scent: Fragrance free but does have natural subtle chemical scent.

the ordinary
the ordinary

My Experience

I got this to use with the 100% L-Ascorbic Acid Powder as a water free mixer to create a powerhouse antioxidant treatment serum/ dupe for the Skinceuticals CE Ferulic which is a whopping £140; some may say that Skinceuticals has a superior formulation but paying that much for 30ml is madness, especially when The Ordinary’s Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% costs only £5.50 for 30ml, and The Ordinary’s 100% L-Ascorbic Acid Powder costs only £4.90 so this dupe is £10.40.

Note: only a small amount to be mixed at the time of use. Do not premix the whole thing in the bottle.

But even though this dupe and Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% on its own are both way cheaper and could work well for some people it wasn’t the right fit for me. In my review of The Ordinary 100% L-Ascorbic Acid Powder, I mentioned that I ended up having to return it to Deciem, and since then there has been no place for The Ordinary Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% in my routine, especially as a propanediol heavy product isn’t something that sits well on my skin. And that’s rather unfortunate for me because I know the combination of Resveratrol and Ferulic Acid is a fantastic antioxidant to protect the skin from free radical damage.

When I did test it out with the L-Ascorbic Acid powder, it turned into a slightly grainy and cloudy thin paste that was easy to control due to the greasy viscosity of the Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%, this was okay for target treatment of dark marks but if I used it all over the face I would need to thin the mixture out by adding a few more drops of Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% which would then result in slight clogging of pores and visible blackheads as it was too heavy for my skin.

The combination of L-Ascorbic Acid Powder and Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% noticeably tingles more on the skin than Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% on it’s own or the L-Ascorbic Acid Powder mixed with other products.

Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% applied on its own feels very warm on the skin which is expected as it’s potent. It also stings open pimple sores so make sure I had to try work around them. After trying this on it’s own I also noticed that my skin didn’t feel like it needed moisturiser as the propanediol base made it feel very silky smooth and almost oil like, but as I mentioned earlier, I also noticed a shiny occlusive film followed by visible clogging and blackheads that weren’t there prior to using this.

I’ve thought about mixing Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3% with a moisturiser to use it up but I’d rather just return this and stick with a simple anti-oxidant rich product that I actually enjoy using such as Rosehip Seed Oil.

Will I repurchase? No, and I’ll attempt returning the one I have back to Deciem.

Leave a comment