Review | Muji Face Soap & Face Soap Moisture

In today’s post, I will be sharing my thoughts and comparison of two Muji Cleansers: Muji Face Soap and Muji Face Soap Moisture. I actually used them earlier last year along with toners from the same line but didn’t get around to writing a review until now (the toner review will be in a separate post). I did save some before they finished to refresh my memory before writing this though and I also had notes from when I first started using them too so that I can be as accurate as possible in my review.

Muji Face Soap

Description

Muji Face Soap: Gently cleanses while replenishing moisture. A face foam for a gentle wash which leaves skin feeling hydrated. Lather into skin using fingertips and warm water.
No fragrance – No artificial colours – No mineral oils – Alcohol free

Muji Face Soap Moisture: A basic cleanser with added apricot juice and peach leaf extract as natural hydrating ingredients to keep your skin moisturised after cleansing.
No fragrance – No artificial colours – No mineral oils – Alcohol free

Period After Opening (PAO): 3 Months

How to use:
Take a sufficient amount (about 1cm) in the palm of your hands, and lather well with small amount of lukwarm water. Smooth over your entire face and cleanse. Rinse off thoroughly.

*As per description on product packaging

Ingredients

Muji Face Soap: Water, Myristic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerine, Palmitic Acid, Glycol Distearate, Lauric Acid, Disodium Lauriminodiacetate, Sodium PEG-4 Cocamide Sulfate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Juice, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Sorbitan Stearate, Lauramide DEA, Sodium Hydroxide, Etidronic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

Muji Face Soap Moisture: Water, Glycerine, Myristic Acid, Lauric Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Palmitic Acid, Disodium Lauriminodiacetate, Glycol Distearate, Sodium PEG-4 Cocamide Sulfate, Polyquaternium-51, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Juice, Prunus Persica (Peach) Leaf Extract, Polyquaternium-7, Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate, Lauramide DEA, Etidronic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA.

Quantity & Packaging

I have them in 120g size squeeze tubes but they are also available in 30g travel size. The packaging is very minimalistic see-through soft plastic with simple black writing in Japanese and English.

Scent

Neither of them has any artificial fragrance but there is a hint of natural freshness that comes from it if you get a good sniff out the tube, although it’s undetectable once on the skin.

Appearance & Texture

Muji Face Soap: The regular Muji Face Soap comes out of the tube as a shiny pearlescent white gel cream type cleanser. With a foaming net it foams up nicely to a thin yet bouncy foam that can hold its form for a short while making it comfortable to apply.


Muji Face Soap Moisture: The Muji Face Soap Moisture version comes out of the tube as a slightly more dense and opaque white cream. With a foaming net it lathers well and produces a thinner less pillow-like foam, but it still comfortable to apply.

My Experience

The Muji Face Soap and Muji Face Soap Moisture are both high pH cleansers that will suit oily to combination skin types providing you have a great hydrating routine after it to balance the skin’s pH levels.

If you have dry skin, you might not like either of them though because of the high pH level, something more mild and hydrating with a low pH might be better, but at the moment Muji don’t offer one.

You can see the slight differences in appearance and consistency in the pictures above, but on my skin I really didn’t feel a massive difference. There were times when the Moisture version did feel a bit more slippy and creamy when massaging it into my skin but that wasn’t always noticeable. The ingredients lists aren’t all that majorly different either with just a few more potentially moisturising ingredients in the Moisture version. Either way, they still leave my combination skin slightly dehydrated until I follow up with my hydrating toners and creams, but that’s not a problem as I do like how clean and less congested my skin is after.

If I had to choose between the two I’d opt for the Moisture version, but really don’t mind grabbing the regular version if it’s the only one available. They’re both decent for oily skin days/ hot weather conditions. Just simple fuss free cleansers that get the job done for my skin type.

Will I repurchase? Yes, however I’m not in a rush to repurchase either of them as there are many foam and gel cleansers out there that are equally as effective whilst still keep the skin’s moisture levels balanced.

Leave a comment