Review | SNP UV Perfect Air-Cool Sun Cream SPF50+ PA++++

In today’s post, I’ll be sharing my review of the SNP UV Perfect Air-Cool Sun Cream SPF50+ PA++++.

I got this sunscreen to use while in Korea a few months ago because I wanted to try something cooling during the hot weather. I used it while there and then finished it off this month back in the UK to see how it is in our current heatwave.

As usual, I’ll first share some general information about the sun cream and then write about my experience with it.

Description

Cooling sun cream to soothe irritated and heated skin instantly by protecting skin from UV rays.
High UV Protection SPF50+ PA++++ with clinical tests approved. 70% Moisture Essence. -4.8 Degrees Celcius Decrease in Skin Temperature.

How to use:
At the last step of skin care, apply an appropriate amount on areas exposed to UV rays.

*As per SNP website.

Ingredients

Water, Dibutyl Adipate, Propanediol, Diisopropyl Sebacate, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Terephthalylidene Dicamphor Sulfonic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Niacinamide, Polyglyceryl-3 Distearate, Glycerin, Tromethamine, Cetearyl Alcohol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Pentylene Glycol, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Caprylyl Methicone, Polysilicone-15, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Caprylic/Capric/Succinic Triglyceride, Glyceryl Stearate, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Methylpropanediol, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/Vp Copolymer, Fragrance, Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Adenosine, Disodium Edta, Sodium Polyacrylate, Polyether-1, T-Butyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Betula Platyphylla Japonica Juice, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Stem Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Mentha Aquatica Extract, Viola Mandshurica Flower Extract, Dioscorea Japonica Root Extract, Tocopherol

SPF & PA Rating: SPF50+ PA++++

UV Filters: Ethylhexyl Triazone (Uvinal T 150), Terephthalylidene Dicamphor Sulfonic Acid (Mexoryl SX), Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (Uvinal A Plus), Polysilicone-15, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine (Tinosorb S).

Quantity & Packaging: 50g in a long and slim, pastel blue squeeze tube with black writing and a pastel blue screw-on cap.

Scent: Contains artificial fragrance and has a synthetic cucumber or melon-like scent with a slight mintiness and whiffs of denatured alcohol that I’m not fond of.

Appearance & Whitecast: A white cream that blends into the skin with no white cast on my light-medium skin tone.

Texture & Finish: A lightweight, hydrating and moisturising lotion texture, that takes a while to blend and leaves a semi-dewy and slightly sticky finish.

My Experience

When testing the SNP UV Perfect Air-Cool Sun Cream on my arm in Olive Young before buying it, I could feel a very apparent cooling sensation over the area so I was sold, especially because the heat was quite unbearable that day.

Turns out I was tricked by the breeze coming from the store’s AC because when I started using it daily, I only ever felt the cooling upon application and the sensation quickly subsided in less than 5 minutes. It leads me to believe the initial cooling sensation is from the alcohol it contains which then evaporates. The thing is, it does also contain some natural ingredients that should cool and calm the skin, but they are too low down the inci list to feel a benefit.

As it contains a few viscosity-controlling solvent ingredients such as alcohol, it is indeed quite a lightweight and thin lotion texture, however, it does take some time to fully blend considering the amount of product needed for adequate sun protection. It’s better to work this one in small thin layers that blend quicker and build up to the correct amount for sun protection (approx 1/4tsp).

I always found this sun cream to leave a sticky residue on my skin and I’d have to fight the urge to wash my hands after application as it would defeat the purpose of applying the sun cream. There are often times that it pills in small gritty rolls so it’s not great under makeup or even on its own.

I also really dislike the way it smells like an obvious synthetic scent trying to be fresh and natural – very odd.

The only good things about it are that it is lightweight and spreads evenly on the skin, it gives a semi-dewy sheen to the skin, zero white cast, my skin doesn’t burn in the sun when it is on, and the packaging is slim and easy to carry. So, if these points are what you’re looking for and you also don’t mind a slightly sticky residue, fragrance and alcohol then you might have a better experience with it.

I personally prefer other Korean sunscreens and would recommend them over this one, so if you’re interested in reading about the ones I’ve already reviewed you can click on the following links to read more: Review | Round Lab Birch Juice Moisturizing Sun Cream SPF50+ PA++++, Review | Beauty of Joseon Relief Sun : Rice + Probiotics SPF50+ PA++++ and stay tuned for reviews on my other favourites coming soon too.

Will I repurchase? No.

Have you used this sunscreen before? I’d love to read your thoughts in the comments section 😀

2 thoughts on “Review | SNP UV Perfect Air-Cool Sun Cream SPF50+ PA++++

  1. Pingback: Beauty Empties | September 2023 – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: K-Beauty & J-Beauty Haul 2023 – Simply Saima

Leave a comment