Review | Farmacy Honey Halo Ultra-Hydrating Ceramide Moisturizer

In my previous post I shared my thoughts on the Farmacy Green Clean Cleansing Balm and today I’m here with a review of another one of Farmacy’s popular raved-about products, the Farmacy Honey Halo Ultra-Hydrating Ceramide Moisturizer. I’ll first share some general information about the moisturiser and then write about my personal experience with it.

Description

An intense moisturizer to replenish dry, distressed skin with lasting hydration to help visibly plump skin and improve the look of fine lines. For normal to dry skin.

Deep Hydration + Visibly Plumping + Replenishing Dry Skin
An ultra-hydrating ceramide moisturizer clinically proven to visibly plump, improve the look of fine lines and replenish dry, distressed skin.

Hydrates + soothes. Antioxidant-rich, ultra-hydrating buckwheat honey renews the skin’s appearance for a dewy, healthy-looking glow.

Restores + locks in moisture. Potent plant-based ceramides replenish the skin barrier while shea butter and vitamin E lock in moisture.

Plumps skin. Fig fruit extract leaves skin smooth and supple.

How to use:
Apply to clean face. Avoid direct contact with eyes. Use AM + PM.

*As per description on Farmacy website.

Ingredients

Water/Aqua/Eau Glycerin Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride C13-15 Alkane Cetearyl Alcohol Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate 1,2-Hexanediol Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-1 Diisostearyl Malate Xylitylglucoside Honey Extract Betaine Panthenol Hydrogenated Rapeseed Oil Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil Unsaponifiables Ceramide Np Propolis Extract Royal Jelly Extract Tocopherol Ficus Carica (Fig) Fruit Extract Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil Glucose Bisabolol Xylitol Anhydroxylitol Cetearyl Glucoside Triolein Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer Arginine Flavor (Aroma)* Hydroxyacetophenone Xanthan Gum Glyceryl Dioleate Sodium Dilauramidoglutamide Lysine Sodium Phytate Sorbitan Isostearate Citric Acid Potassium Sorbate Sodium Benzoate

Farmacy Honey Halo

Quantity & Packaging

Available in 9ml, 25ml, 50ml and 100ml size semi-seethrough frosted jars with an opaque white screw-on lid. The jar is also in a hexagon shape to symbolise a beehive honeycomb cell.

Scent

A very strong honey scent and not in the delicious light and sweet way, it’s more of a heavy, warm overpowering honey-type scent that lingers in a bothersome way. It also contains artificial fragrance.

Appearance & Texture

A thick pale yellowish-white cream that glides on the skin in a rich fatty nourishing way but without a greasy residue.

My Experience

I was half expecting to enjoy this cream because my combination skin type that is often dehydrated, sometimes dry and at times experiences a compromised barrier needs a ceramide-rich cream to help fortify the skin barrier, provide nourishment and bring back vitality to it. Then there is the oily part of my combination skin that benefits from much lighter textures so I wasn’t entirely sure which way my mind would sway with the Farmacy Honey Halo.

I thought my mind with go in one of two directions, either I’d love how nourishing it is, or I’d think it is too heavy, however my mind and senses went in a completely unexpected direction which was a complete repulse to the the heavy honey scent that made me not want to use it on my face or anywhere on my body. I couldn’t even fully experience how the moisturizer would be on my skin with continued use because of it, but I could gather from initial use that the Farmacy Honey Halo is super thick so great for dry skin, maybe not the best for my combo skin and a no go for oily skin.

I mentioned in a recent empties and discards post that the Farmacy Honey Halo smells more like honey than any other honey product I have in my collection and not in a good way, it’s in between too real and artificial and I’m just not into it. However, what I don’t like, you might love; that’s exactly what happened with my mum, as I ended up passing the Farmacy Honey Halo on to her knowing the ceramides in it would do well for her extremely dry hands and strengthen her skin barrier. She ended up enjoying the honey scent and her hands looked really nourished and healthy which she was very happy about. So with that in mind, if you have dry skin that requires a lot of moisture and you generally enjoy the scent of honey, give the Farmacy Honey Halo a try.

Where to buy: SPACE NK

Have you used this moisturiser before? Please share your thoughts in the comments section and also what’s your favourite haircare product these days? 😀

Leave a comment