First Impression | Clinique Moisture Surge

In this post, I will be sharing my first impression on the Clinique Moisture Surge 72 Hour Auto-Replenishing Hydrator.

clinique

Ingredients

Water\Aqua\Eau, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Trisiloxane, Trehalose, Sucrose, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/Vp Copolymer, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Silybum Marianum (Lady’S Thistle) Extract, Betula Alba (Birch) Bark Extract, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Water, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Caffeine, Sorbitol, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-12, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylyl Glycol, Oleth-10, Sodium Polyaspartate, Saccharide Isomerate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Tromethamine, Peg-8 , Hexylene Glycol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Red 4 (Ci 14700), Yellow 5 (Ci 19140)

Quantity & Packaging

I used a sample size which was good for just one use. However, this product is available in the following size jars: 75ml, 50ml, 30ml, 15ml

My Thoughts

What drew me to this is that it is a lightweight gel-cream moisturiser that is meant to keep the skin hydrated for a really long time; on top of that it is 100% fragrance-free and allergy tested so my thoughts were that this is going to be perfect for my skin.

Before using the sample, I went online to check the ingredients as I’m really trying to be careful about what I put on my skin; what I noticed was that dimethicone is the 2nd ingredient on the entire list – this doesn’t cause any irritation to my skin and I like the soft smooth feeling it gives in general but in high volumes it can clog my pores so I was a bit concerned to see it so high up in the list.

Also, the cream is a pretty pale pink colour, but honestly, I don’t think artificial colouring should be in any skincare products and would have prefered it without.

clinique
Simply Saima Clinique Moisture Surge Swatch 2

I tried the sample anyway, out of curiosity, and it felt really hydrating and refreshing on the skin without a greasy feeling and did have that smoothness that dimethicone can give but didn’t feel heavy- it felt like a gel-cream that had a bit of a bounce to it when rubbing it in and left an ever so slight layer sitting on my skin for a while until it fully absorbed. To my surprise, it didn’t clog my pores much but as it was only a sample that I could try once, I’m not sure how it would be with regular use.

As for the 72-hour moisture claim, I didn’t notice a considerable difference in hydration over a three day period compared to other hydrating products I have used in the past. Yes, my skin was plump, hydrated and healthy-looking at the time of using it, but the product didn’t exactly wow me.

Maybe I need to use it more to see how my skin really feels about it, but I don’t think I’ll be running to the shops to purchase this in particular anytime soon, especially because there are so many other things out there I want to try and also because I have a lot of products in my stash waiting to be used up.

Please let me know your thoughts if you’ve used this before, did you like it or would you recommend something else instead?

I’ve also been testing out the Kiehls Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturising Serum Concentrate, so stay tuned for a review on that soon.

2 thoughts on “First Impression | Clinique Moisture Surge

  1. To see dimethicone – a nice but cheap ingredient – so high up on the list is a bit disappointing for a high end brand! The ingredients seem nice though generally speaking.

    Can you get Illiyoon where you live? Their ceramide ato lotion comes in at around ₩10,000 for 350ml and it’s a rich lotion moisturiser that you can use all over your body including your face. Ceramides are supposed to be really good for acne prone skin and this one has been a best seller for years now. I always see it come up on blogs and YouTube and can confirm it’s excellent value for money and soothes and hydrates skin really well too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh another one to add to the list, I want to try the Dr Jart Ceramidin line too someday ~ I can’t get much kbeauty in London unless I pay extra online but I’ll defo keep Illiyoon in mind for when I’m in Korea.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment