Review | Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturising Serum Concentrate

In this post, I will be sharing my thoughts on the Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturising Serum Concentrate.

serum

Description

As always you can scroll down to the ‘My Thoughts’ section of this post to read my personal review, but first I’ll share the product description from the Kiehl’s website so we can see what the company claims:

Clinically tested to plump skin, smooth the appearance of fine lines and texture while significantly reducing the look of dull, tired-looking skin that can be caused by age-related dehydration.

Formulated with a 15% concentration of Glycerin, known for its moisture attraction properties, and Shiso Leaf Extract, which helps to retain moisture within the skin’s surface layers.

Ingredients

Aqua, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Propanediol, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Butylene Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Sodium Citrate, P-anisic Acid, Disodium Edta, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Sodium Hydroxide, Adenosine, Perilla Ocymoides Extract, Citric Acid

Quantity & Packaging

This serum comes in either a 50ml or 75ml pump bottle that dispenses a nice small amount each time for good control over how much product to use. And although it’s quite pricey, I don’t need much of the product to cover my entire face – 2 pumps are enough for me and after a month of usage, the bottle is nowhere near empty. I’m thinking this will last me another few months but I’ll update you when it does finish.

kiehls

My Thoughts

This serum has a really light slippery gel-cream consistency. It doesn’t leave a greasy residue on my skin and actually feels like a refreshing burst of water when working it in.

It also does not have any fragrance or irritates my skin, but it does clog my pores and cause whiteheads to appear which. In regards, to the plumping and re-texturising claim, I don’t see or feel a major difference and I’ve been using this for a month.

kiehls

I had been wondering if the high content of dimethicone and glycerin in this is clogging my pores and causing whiteheads – nothing else in my routine has been different and these 2 ingredients have been problematic for me in the past so I can only conclude that these are the cause. The annoying thing is that I actually like the texture of these ingredients but my skin is saying NO!

Would I repurchase? I doubt it – I really want to find something with a similar texture that gives more obvious results without such a high content of dimethicone and glycerin; also the shiso leaf extract (Perilla Ocymoides Extract) is second to last in the ingredients list which means the amount of it is pretty low compared to other ingredients so I doubt it’s giving any real added benefits. I’ll probably just continue with a trusted Hyaluronic Acid serum instead.

If you’ve used this product before, I’d love to know your thoughts, and if there are any other hydrating serums you recommend please do share in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “Review | Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturising Serum Concentrate

  1. Hey how much was this one?

    Also if you’re looking for a serum, there’s this deluxe sample of Dr Jart that I had.. it was their new blue toner (can’t remember the name) but it was something blue shot something. That one worked wonders. My fine lines disappeared and it was not just a cosmetic. At W50,000 for 150ml though my wallet was screaming in pain. I’m planning on getting it next time Olive Young has a sale on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Beauty Empties | July – September 2022 – Simply Saima

Leave a comment