Review | Hanskin Real Complexion Hyaluron Skin Essence

In today’s post, I’ll be sharing my review of the Hanskin Real Complexion Hyaluron Skin Essence that I received in the Day 18 Box of the Beauty & Seoul 2020 Advent Calendar.

About The Product

This wonderfully hydrating essence contains an advanced form of hyaluronic acid called sodium hyaluronate that’s made up of smaller molecules meaning it can hold 1,000 x more moisture than water! This toner essence absorbs quickly in to the skin but helps infuse and maintain moisture levels. If you want ‘chok chok’ skin, this is the product for you! Fragrance-free.

How to use: After double cleansing morning and night, pour a few drops of the essence on your palms or a cotton pad and pat into skin.

*AS PER BEAUTY & SEOUL WEBSITE
hanskin hyaluronic acid essence

Ingredients

Glycerin, Water, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Rhus Semialata Gall Extract, Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf/Stem Extract, Zostera Marina Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Saccharide Isomerate, Hydrolyzed Algin, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

Quantity & Packaging: I have a 30ml deluxe sample size but the full size is 300ml. Both come in a semi see-through bottle with a baby pink screw-on lid. There’s also a little plastic stopper plug that blocks the dispensing hole to avoid accidental spillage.

Appearance & Texture: Thin and watery with a slippery viscous bounce.

Scent: No fragrance.

My Experience

I remember the Hanskin Real Complexion Hyaluron Skin Essence being quite popular a few years ago but I didn’t get the chance to try it back then. Since getting this 30ml mini version I’ve used it on and off quite a few times. I’ve only used it on and off because I have so many different essences and toners in my collection to use and I pick and choose according to what I feel like my skin needs on that day.

This humectant rich essence is basic but effective. It contains 2 forms of hyaluronic acid which are 11th and 15th in the ingredients list, as well as glycerine in 1st, followed by water, butylene glycol, pentylene glycol and other ingredients before and after the hyaluronic acids. With the word ‘Hyaluron’ in the product name, you would expect at least one of the forms to be higher up in the ingredients list, but actually, the placement doesn’t matter as you can still reap the benefits of all the humectants as long as there is moisture for it to hold on to and pull into the skin.

I found this essence to be quite lightweight but buildable if you want more hydration with some tackiness. I prefer a plump skin-like natural feel so one layer using 2-3 drops is more than enough for me to get refreshing hydration without stickiness.

As with other hyaluronic acid toners/ essences, I apply this straight after washing my face when it is still wet, then follow with another splash of water after applying the essence to ensure there’s enough for the humectants to work their magic in my skin, then lock in the goodness with a moisturising cream.

While applying it I can feel that it spreads easily with that typical slippery silky smooth glycerin glide and my skin feels instantly refreshed and hydrated. I also don’t experience any breakouts, clogged pores or irritation with this which is great.

It’s quite a standard hyaluronic acid essence and other than it being quite lightweight it doesn’t perform any differently from others I have in my collection. It actually reminds me a lot of the Muji Light Toning Water (review coming soon) which is a similar price range. All in all, it’s simple and does the job well, so you can’t really go wrong with it unless you’re sensitive to hyaluronic acid that is.

I’ll add it to my repurchase list but it’s not the only one that works well so it will be in a rotation with others that I like or want to try.

Have you used this essence before? Let me know what you think of it in the comments 😀

3 thoughts on “Review | Hanskin Real Complexion Hyaluron Skin Essence

  1. Pingback: Beauty & Seoul Advent Calendar 2021 – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: Beauty Empties | April – June 2022 – Simply Saima

  3. Pingback: Beauty Empties | April 2023 – Simply Saima

Leave a comment