Review | Honestly It’s My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder [AD]

I hope everyone’s had a nice start to the new year! For my first post of the year, I wanted to share my review of a product by a skincare brand that strives to help our environment. Honestly It’s kindly reached out to me with the opportunity to test out their My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder in exchange for an honest review. Honestly It’s is a Netherlands-based circular skincare brand that makes sustainable products in an innovative way, to upcycle and use healthy ingredients for vegan, cruelty-free, plastic-free and zero-waste skincare. Their mission is to not only make sustainable and plastic-free products but also to raise awareness of plastic pollution and waste in the skincare industry, getting the attention of consumers and other brands to work together for the future of our planet and home. 

It’s not always easy to live a sustainable eco-friendly zero-waste lifestyle, but I’d like to contribute wherever possible so I’m grateful to Honestly It’s for shedding light on this important topic and bringing their product into my life, and out on the market for consumers to make better environmentally friendly skincare choices.

honestly it's

Honestly It’s My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder

The biodegradable all-in-one “My Addiction” Foaming Scrub Powder is an exfoliating cleansing powder scrub made with 50% upcycled coffee grounds collected from coffee shops. A mild cleanser created with coffee grounds, cleansing and moisturising ingredients and your local tap water. It is packed in compostable sachets, making it perfect for single-use, especially when you travel for a short period of time. Made for your skin with care for the environment.

Skin Benefits:
– Removes dead skin cells
– Gently washes away dirt and oil
– Softens and soothes dry skin
– Boosts blood circulation
– Reduces the appearance of the cellulite
– Fades away bacne and stretch mark scars

How to use:
Apply My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder on wet skin. Massage it in circular motions for a few minutes. Rinse off.

Ingredients

Used Coffee Grounds (dried), Coffee Arabica Powder, SCI Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (Coconut derived cleansing agent), Coco Glucoside, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glycerin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil, Tocopherol, Cаffeine, Cetearyl Olivate & Sorbitan Olivate, Lactobacillus Ferment

+ GMO, PEG, Paraben, Sulfate, Silicone and Mineral oil free

Key Ingredient Breakdown:
64% Coffee – A combination of 50% used coffee grounds, 12% coffee arabica powder and 2% caffeine: Helps to reduce inflammation and puffiness by constricting the blood vessels. Tightens and brightens the skin. Visibly smooths away cellulite. Gently removes dead skin cells and improves blood circulation by physical exfoliation.
Coconut derived cleansing agent – SCI Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate: Effectively washes away dirt and oil without leading to dryness or irritation. Retains the skin’s moisture and vitality. Biodegradable and natural, not causing harm to the environment.
10 % Antioxidant-rich oils – Almond Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Olive Oil, Vitamin E: Nourishes the skin and helps protect against free-radical damage.

Disclaimer: This product was gifted to me by Honestly It’s in exchange for an honest review.

Quantity & Packaging

10g of scrub powder in a cream coloured paper sachet. I got a set of 5 sachets and a little bag with it. However, you can also get sets of 10 and 15.

Scent

No artificial fragrance but as expected as it is coffee the coffee scent is quite strong. I can even smell the coffee in my room through the unopened sachet/ pouch.

Appearance & Texture

Dark brown coffee grounds. When water is added it foams up. The texture is quite scrubby but not too rough so it doesn’t hurt when using it on the body. It also has a slight moisturising slippy feel to it too.

My Experience

I was given 5 sachet’s of the My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder, which I thought I would finish in a week but each sachet actually has quite a lot of product in it to use so I can easily double the amount of usage.

My husband and I both tested the product out and were impressed with how well the coffee grounds exfoliate the skin without feeling too rough and also while maintaining a moisturised feeling on the skin. I also like that you can actually see it foam up when you add water and massage it into your skin.

I don’t use scrubs like this on my face because my face is prone to sensitivity, but I did love using it on my body. It felt like a whole sensory experience in the shower, first you’re hit by the strong aroma of coffee and then you feel the gentle nourishing yet effective cleansing and exfoliating power, making your skin feel fresh and soft to the touch. It was particularly effective on the keratosis pilaris on the back of my arms and legs, making them look and feel smoother.

The only slight downside is that it can get quite messy in the shower, with brown coffee smears on any surface you touch but luckily it doesn’t stain and immediately wipes clean.

My husband liked it so much that he’s told me to repurchase it once we finish, and I agree it’s quite a fantastic product for body care that I’d like to use again. I can’t wait to see what else Honestly It’s has to offer in future.

Where to purchase and cost? You can purchase the Honestly It’s My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder on the Honestly It’s website. Currently, they are selling 5 pouches for €15, 10 pouches + free bag for €26, and 15 pouches + free bag for €35.

Honestly It’s Official Website: https://honestlyits.com
Honestly It’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/honestlyits/
#zerowaste #plasticfree #vegan #upcycled #crueltyfree

4 thoughts on “Review | Honestly It’s My Addiction Foaming Scrub Powder [AD]

  1. Pingback: Beauty Empties | April – June 2022 – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: Beauty Empties | October 2023 – Simply Saima

  3. Pingback: 10 Years of Blogging: Highlights & Challenges – Simply Saima

Leave a comment