Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise Review & Swatches

In today’s post, I’ll be sharing swatches of 4 Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise shades and writing about my experience with them, what I like about them, as well as a tip for them to last longer on the eyelids.

The Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise cream eyeshadow pots are probably one of the most worth the price tag from the brand as they last such a long time without drying out or going bad and a little goes a long way. The Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise comes in 9 different Shades: Copper Sunrise, Amber Gold, Champagne, Chocolate Bronze, Oyster Pearl, Rose Gold, Star Gold, Pillow Talk, and Walk Of No Shame.

charlotte tilbury
From bottom to top: Oyster Pearl, Champagne, Amber Gold, Pillow Talk

Out of these 9 shades I have 4: Oyster Pearl, Champagne, Amber Gold and Pillow Talk. I bought Marie Antoinette (now called Oyster Pearl) and Norma Jean (now called Champagne) in 2015 and there’s still a lot left. They’ve definitely gone past their period after opening date but I haven’t thrown them out because they don’t look, smell or feel bad and they perform the same as they always have. Last year I added Amber Gold (previously called Bette) and Pillow Talk to my collection.

All of the shades I have are great one and done type of eyeshadows as they aren’t flat colours and have some depth to them; in different angles and lighting it looks like more than one shade has been applied. I noticed that if I use too much the whipped mousey cream formulation can gather in the crease of my eyelids so I first apply a thin layer of eyeshadow primer and then apply the eyes to mesmerise in thin sheer layers and use a matte powder to blend and set the crease.

Not only are they perfect on their own, they even work fantastically under and over powder eyeshadows to give more impact and depth to the makeup look, some shades give more impact than other on my skin tone though.

You can definitely get similar looks by just blending different shimmery or satin powder eyeshadow shades together but the difference with the eyes to mesmerise is that they give more of a high shine gleaming almost wet look to the eyelids whilst still being set in place.

Anyone who likes cream eyeshadows or who has drier eyelids will most likely get along very well with these, whereas people with oilier eyelids, like me, will have to follow what I said earlier which is to apply an eyeshadow primer first and also set the crease with powder too.


Here are swatches of the 4 shades I have as well as some more detail on my thoughts and how I use each of them:

charlotte tilbury eyes to mesmerise
Bottom to Top: Oyster Pearl, Champagne, Amber Gold, Pillow Talk

Oyster Pearl

Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise

Originally named Marie Antoinette, which is the one I have as I purchased it in 2015. Oyster Pearl is described as a long-lasting Cream eyeshadow in oyster gold. On my skin tone, this is a neutral leaning slightly cool shade that has the most multi dimensional antique gold and silver look to it. Probably the most unique shade in the line. I love how it makes my eyelids look bright with a pop of twinkle.

Champagne

Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise

Originally named Norma Jean, which is the one I have as a purchased it in 2015. Champagne is described as a long-lasting Cream eyeshadow in champagne pink, however I don’t get any pink from this on my skin tone, just a regular pale yellow champagne colour. I like to sheer it out all over the lids when using it on it’s own, use it as an inner corner highlight, pop of colour to the centre of lids, and also dab on the highpoints of my cheekbones and tip of nose as a regular highlighter. It’s pretty versatile in that way but not unique by any means. I do like that it’s not immensely sparkly and glittery but it just adds a beautiful champagne sheen when applied in a thin layer.

Amber Gold

Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise

Originally named Bette, however I have the renamed Amber Gold as I purchased it in 2021. Amber Gold is described as a long-lasting Cream eyeshadow in amber gold. It is a warm toned gold shade with a hint of brown that suits my skin tone well. This shade doesn’t really give me much of a twinkle but instead just a satin smooth wash of colour. I wish the multidimensional shift between brown, gold, and amber was more obvious with this one but I do still love this shade on me. To elevate the look, I like to add a pop of gold glitter shadow on top of this while it hasn’t fully set so that the glitter can adhere well.

Pillow Talk

Pillow Talk is described as an easy to use, long-lasting pretty pink cream eyeshadow with a rose-gold sparkle to light up your eyes. On my skin tone it shows as a neutral brownish pink with hints of gold. I’ve seen some reviews saying that this shade was a little disappointing for them, but I actually like it a lot. I sometimes use this as a transition shade when using other eyeshadows and sometimes use it on it’s own for a daily neutral pink makeup look. I sheer it out a lot which also helps prevent it from bunching up and I love the wash of colour it leaves. I also love popping a touch of the shade Champagne on top of this on the centre of my eyelids and find that they blend really well together and suit each other well.


There is one other shade that I purchased but returned because it didn’t suit me which is Chocolate Bronze (previously Mona Lisa). The shade Chocolate Bronze was too dull on me, making my dark circles more prominent.

If I could add just one more shade to my collection it would be either Star Gold which is a bronze gold with copper undertones, or Copper Sunrise which is a pink toned copper, as these kinds of shades usually suit me too. I wouldn’t get both as they seem similar, so it’s just a matter of which I like more when I get around to trying it in store one day.


Have you used the Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise before? I’d love to know what you think of them and what your favourite shade is too, let me know in the comments 😀

5 thoughts on “Charlotte Tilbury Eyes To Mesmerise Review & Swatches

  1. Hahaha I feel you on the ‘probably expired but using them nonetheless’ bit! I know many people are wary of this especially for eye products but I keep all my makeup in the dark, in a makeup bag in a cool dehumidified closet and have never had issues with any (eye or face) product… and just keep using until the product finishes… which I know you shouldn’t do… but oh well 🤷‍♀️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 10 Years of Blogging: Highlights & Challenges – Simply Saima

Leave a comment