Review | IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum

In today’s post I will be sharing my thoughts on the IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum that I got in the Day 5 box of the Beauty & Seoul 2020 Advent Calendar.

About The Product

This lovely serum can help to calm, nourish and brighten skin all at the same time thanks to the inclusion of natural ingredients like Propolis extract (70%) and fruit extract (12%). Designed for those that need a little pick me up, this is great for when your skin is feeling a bit dull and lacklustre. 

How to use: After cleansing and toning, gently massage evenly onto face and neck. Then pat gently for full absorption.

*as per Beauty & Seoul website

Ingredients

Propolis extract, Aqua, Butylene glycol, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Propylene glycol, Rosa damascena flower water, 1,2-Hexanediol, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract Betaine, Caprylyl Glycol, Glycosyl Trehalose, Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, Arginine, Allantoin, Carbomer, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Adenosine, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Honey Extract, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium hyaluronate, Portulaca Oleracea extract, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia Fruit Oil, Isopropyl Myristate, beta-Glucan, Centella asiatica extract, Ficus carica Fruit Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Nut Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana Extract, Morus Alba Fruit Extract, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Dipropylene glycol, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Extract, Disodium Phosphate, Polysorbate 60, Commiphora Myrrha Resin Extract, Yucca Schidigera Root Extract, Sodium Phosphate, Perilla Frutescens Leaf Extract, Limonene

iunik

Quantity & Packaging: I have a 15ml sample size, however the full size product is 50ml. It comes in a small see-through bottle with a screw on pipette dropper lid.

Appearance & Texture: A viscous orangey yellow tinted serum that feels silky smooth.

Scent: Slightly sweet and fresh if you get a good whiff but can’t smell anything once applied to the skin.

My Experience

I mentioned in my previous post that I switched to the COSRX Propolis Synergy Toner to help with some skin troubles I’m having, and since that had been working well I thought why not throw this IUNIK serum into the mix.

I found this IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum to be just as great at healing my acne and repairing my skin barrier as the COSRX toner, but just with a different texture as the IUNIK serum has a thicker bounce to it and is more slippery smooth while still somehow being quite lightweight and easily absorbs into the skin without leaving a sticky residue if I use the right amount. If I apply too much it can take longer to absorb and feels slightly sticky until it fully sinks in. For me, a few drops are enough for my whole face as it spreads easily; a drop per cheek and a drop for the t-zone.

I also feel like the IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum gives an extra boost of hydration and makes my skin look plump with a healthy glow.

It works great and feels great but there are things in the ingredients list that some people might not like to see such as bergamot fruit oil, witch hazel and limonene which in high concentrations are potential irritants for people with sensitive or reactive skin. I do sometimes react badly to such ingredients too but fortunately in this case as the concentrations are so low and as the product has been formulated very well, my skin has been absolutely fine with them. I would still recommend to patch test first, just incase.

The IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum contains 70% propolis extract whereas the lighter-weight COSRX Propolis Synergy Toner contains 72% propolis extract, so it’s safe to say if you’re looking for high concentrations of propolis both of these are great, however if you just want to purchase a lightweight product just for propolis then I’d say go for the COSRX toner, and if you want the added potential benefits of fruit extracts and niacinamide along with propolis then go for the mid-weight IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum.

Will I repurchase? I’m not sure yet; I do like it but I want to compare it against the COSRX Propolis Light Ampoule as well as the By Wishtrend Polyphenols in Propolis 15% Ampoule, to see what I prefer. Update: Since testing it against the COSRX Propolis Light Ampoule and By Wishtrend Polyphenols in Propolis 15% Ampoule, I can confirm that I like the IUNIK’s lighter texture more and will repurchase it at some point, whereas the COSRX ampoule is a little too thick and sticky for me, and the By Wishtrend Ampoule is nice and I would repurchase but it does have a lower amount of propolis compared to IUNIK.

If you’ve used this serum or any other IUNIK product before please let me know how it was for you in the comment section below 😀

If you’re interested in reading my review of other propolis based products I’ve tried, you can find it via the following links: Mamonde Flower Honey Toner, By Wishtrend Pro-Biome Balance Cream, COSRX Propolis Synergy Toner, I’m From Honey Mask, By Wishtrend Polyphenols in Propolis 15% Ampoule, By Wishtrend Quad Active Boosting Essence, COSRX Propolis Light Ampoule

5 thoughts on “Review | IUNIK Propolis Vitamin Synergy Serum

  1. Pingback: First Impressions | Jumiso Super Soothing Cica & Aloe Facial Serum – Simply Saima

  2. Pingback: Beauty & Seoul Advent Calendar 2021 – Simply Saima

  3. Pingback: Review | Dr.Ceuracle Best Sellers Mini Kit – Simply Saima

  4. Pingback: Beauty Empties | July 2023 – Simply Saima

  5. Pingback: Review | IUNIK Noni Light Oil Serum – Simply Saima

Leave a comment